关于MONO

MONO Design& Build的前身是林氏五金制品公司,至今已有将近四十年的历史。

自MONO成立以来,参数化设计始终是我们的设计方式,我们亦认为参数化设计是数字时代的必然产物。参数化设计意味着设计与其他不同领域、专业之间的“关联”,甚至设计和使用 者之间愈发紧密的联系。它的诞生使得我们得以在设计之初就得以将形式,材料,尺度,颜色,造价,工期同步考虑, 数字化的设计和建造是在用非常系统化的方式去看待技术本身。

设计是一门“建造”的艺术。MONO的每一个项目从最开始,就具备从建造的角度考量和构思的能力。我们敢于直面这样的挑战,是因为在成立之前,我们已经在金属制造业积累了近四十年的行业经验。悠久的生产历史,丰富的制造实践经验,全套生产资源的配备和精密生产技术,是MONO转型的强大后盾和底气。

设计的本质是用创意解决问题,而一个问题的解法,千千万万。作为设计师,我们想用我们的设计唤起一种喜悦,一种对生活、城市、自然的重新感知。

我们坚信没有一个设计可以脱离场地和文脉而存在,每一个客户的诉求,每一个项目的条件和制约都是如此不同,而这恰恰是设计中突破的契机。MONO相信原创设计的价值远远大于表面的收益,予以时间和空间,它会带给我们的城市以潜移默化的巨大影响。

事务所创始人 | 艺术顾问 林之杰

林之杰,Michael Lam, 出生于1981年,在加拿大温哥华长大。

2003年从维多利亚工业设计系视觉艺术双硕士毕业,回国后在父亲经营的传统金属制品工厂上班,从家族企业经营模式,转型成具备建构技术研发和制造的基地。

2013年,正式成立MONO DB 设计与制造,并担任艺术顾问,将设计和视觉艺术创意作为公司的自主研发核心。

设计逻辑,“Why is made? and how is made?”

他带领MONO DB团队,结构为装置艺术设计,建构设计,产品设计,参数化程序研发,工程力学分析等。

设计需要灵感,但更需要逻辑“Design needs inspiration, but more logic”。

日常工作中,他喜欢研究不同的新型材料、不同构造方式技术,开放式的创作视觉成为了他别具一格的建构艺术风格,通过作品展示出建构的美术哲学。


© Copyright 2008-2019 | MONO design & Build | Technical Support: Xinba

ABOUT MONO

MONO Design & Build, inherited from LAM's hardware product Pty Ltd, has a history of nearly 40 years since its establishment.

Since MONO was founded, parametric design has always been our design methodology. We believe that the parametric design is an inevitable outcome of the digital age.Parametric design means the interconnection among design and other professions and represents a closer connection between designers and users.It allows us to consider multiple factors, including form, material, dimension, color, cost and timeline simultaneously at the very beginning of a project. We consider this as a more organized and systematic way to understand the technology involved in design and construction.

Design is the art of construction. The view of construction is embedded in each step of our design at the beginning of every project. Our confidence to embrace challenges lies in the industrial experience accumulated for nearly 40 years in metal manufacturing. Our transformation from manufacture to design is powered by the long history, abundant industrial experiences, complete production resources and advanced technology.

The essence of design is to solve problems with creativity. As designers, we expect our design to evoke the happiness within life and rediscover our life, city and nature.

We strongly believe that no design exists without the site and the context. Demand, condition and constraint from different clients is distinctive, which also leads to the breakthrough in design.Such a design is unique, so is the fascination of design.  MONO believes that the value of the original design is far greater than the profits in a long term, and it will bring a profound influence to the city where we live. 


Founder & Design Director | Art Consultant Michael Lam

Lin Zhijie, Michael Lam, was born in 1981 and grew up in Vancouver, Canada. 
He graduated from the Victorian Department of Industrial Design in 2003 and worked in a traditional metal products factory run by his father after returning to China. He transformed from a family business model into a base with research, development and manufacturing of construction technology. 


In 2013, MONO DB Design and Manufacturing was officially established, and served as an art consultant, with design and visual art creativity as the core of the company's independent research and development.

 
Design logic, "Why is made? And how is made? "

 
He led the MONO DB team, with structures for installation art design, construction design, product design, parametric programming development, engineering mechanics analysis, and so on.

 
Design needs inspiration, but more logic.”


In his daily work, he likes to study different new materials, different structural techniques, open creative vision has become his unique constructive art style, through his works to show the construction of art philosophy.


© Copyright 2008-2019 | MONO design & Build | Technical Support: Xinba